Work Share Information

On Tuesdays I harvest, wash and pack vegetables for the CSA shares.  I can always use an extra set of hands during the Tuesday harvest.  Harvest helpers will get a CSA share on their day of harvest help, in exchange for their assistance with the harvest.  Due to Covid-19, harvest helpers are expected to wear a face covering over both their mouth and nose while on the farm.  Please email info@sterlingorganicfarm.com if you are interested.  Harvest helpers can come one time, or on a regular basis.  

Live-in Internship information

We are delighted to be participating in WWOOF, which stands for Worldwide Opportunities On Organic Farms.  WWOOF offers people the opportunity to travel the world while living on organic farms, room and board provided.  WWOOFers are provided with room and board on our farm in exchange for 20 hours per week of labor on the farm.  There is no monetary compensation provided.  WWOOFERS will learn about and participate in all aspects of running a small scale organic flower and vegetable farm, and can use their internship towards the experience requirement for a USDA farm loan.  If you are an agriculture student, we would be happy to work with your college or university on helping you obtain college credits for the internship.

About our Farm

My farm is a small 1.3 acre certified organic vegetable and flower farm.  I grow close to 100 different types of vegetables and flowers, and sell them to restaurants, small grocery stores, at a farmer's market and through a CSA.  I have a part-time employee who lives across the street, and my parents help out on the weekends.  2021 will be my third season of farming.  Although I did several farm internships before buying my farm, I only worked on established farms, and never worked on a new farm.  I wish that I had the experience of what it is like to be a beginning farmer.  You can have that experience by working alongside me.  You will get to learn about every aspect of our small operation, from no-till farming techniques, to tractor operation, to record keeping for organic certification, to flower arranging, weed management, sowing, propagation, fertilization, harvesting, and bringing produce to market.  We have two high tunnels, and you will learn about greenhouse growing.  

Times when I can host WWOOFers

I am able to host WWOOFers late April through the end of October.  I require at least a two month commitment for any intern, with full season preferred.  Due to Covid-19, interns are expected to isolate i.e. remain on the farm for the duration of their internship.  

About the surrounding area

The farm is in the center of town in a small rural farming community.  We are walking distance from a lake, the post office, a convenience store, the library and the town hall.  There are several other small sustainable farms nearby that you could tour during your stay, including a turkey farm, an apiary, a blueberry farm, an alpaca farm, a dairy farm and a beef farm.  We have 50 acres of beautiful woods with paths and streams adjacent to our farm that you can walk in during your time off.  

About the Acommodations

You will stay in an 1865 farm house that has eight bedrooms, two bathrooms and one kitchen.  I have a cat, so the internship might not be a good fit if you have cat allergies.  The furnishings in the house are simple and spare.  The farm house has television with a Netflix account and a few local channels through the antenna.  Wifi is through satellite internet which is reliable, but at times can be slow.  Drinking water comes from a well that has been thoroughly tested for water quality and found to be extremely pure.  It is delicious.  I will take you to the grocery store once a week and buy you whatever kinds of food you would like.  You are also welcome to whatever vegetables and herbs you would like from our farm.  We are happy to accommodate meat-eaters, vegetarians and vegans alike, as well as anyone with food allergies or sensitivities.  I am currently an omnivore, but in the past I was a vegan for four years, so I know a variety of vegan recipes to cook for lunch if we host a vegan.  

Pets and Children

Children six and over are welcome to stay with you during your time as a WWOOFer on my farm.  I cannot accommodate children younger than six, as the farm house does have some lead paint.  Cats are welome.  Dogs are welcome provided that you can keep them out of the fields where we are growing crops, and that you clean up after your dog.  Our fields are not fenced off, so you would have to walk your dog on a leash each day.

Work Expectations

You will work alongside me on the farm for three days a week at seven hours per day.  I expect that you listen to and follow my directions, as tasks on the farm must be done with precision, and that you give your best effort to all tasks.  I typically spend the early morning harvesting delicate crops such as flowers and leafy greens.  Then I harvest the less delicate crops such as beans, cucumbers and tomatoes.  We will break for lunch from 12pm to 1pm.  After lunch, I either take produce to market, or stay on the farm to plant crops, perform weed management, and apply organic fertilizers. 

 

Languages

I speak English fluently and am conversant in Spanish.  Yo hablo ingles perfectamente y yo puedo hablar espanol en una conversacion simple. 

Our self-serve farm stand is located on the farm at 1080 Plainfield Pike, Sterling, CT 06373 and is open June 22 through August 21 9AM to 7PM

Explore

©2020 by Sterling Organic Farm.

0